Who deserves 2014 Distinguished Citizen honor?

There’s still time to let us hear your thoughts on the next Distinguished Citizen of Jefferson County. The award dates to 1979 and now is sponsored yearly by the Spirit of Jefferson.

The prestigious award recognizes those who make a difference in our community. Some of those honored over the years include the late Shirley M. Hunt, D. Lee Morgan, “Doc” Master, Sandy Dougherty and Frank Buckles.

Other Distinguished Citizens continue to contribute to making our area the best possible place to live: Dennis L. Barron, Wanda Perry, Roger Perry, Roger R. Ramey, J.P. Burns Jr., Jane Tabb, Cam Tabb, Ed Smith, Locke Wysong, Donald Mickey and the 2013 winner, Gary Chicchirichi

The surprise presentation of the award is always one of the highlights of this month’s Jefferson County Chamber of Commerce awards dinner. You can be a part of it. The evening is open to anyone, even those who aren’t chamber members.

The deadline to submit a nomination comes at the end of business on Monday. The winner is determined by a panel of judges selected by the chamber with consultation from Rob Snyder, the Spirit’s editor/publisher (and my husband).

Thankfully, Rob is continuing to recover from his May 17 heart attack – he starts cardiac rehab at Berkeley Medical Center this morning – and is aiming to present the award during the chamber’s 55th dinner slated for June 30 at the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center in Shepherdstown.

To nominate someone, write a letter of no more than 150 words detailing your reasons for suggesting this person along with his or her name and address. Also include your name and address and contact info (email or phone).

Nominees needn’t be chamber members, though they must reside in Jefferson County. You can drop off the information in person at the chamber’s new office downtown. It’s located at 201 E. Washington St., across from the Charles Town Library.

Other options: mail it (making sure it arrives by the deadline Monday), email it tochamber@jeffersoncountywvchamber.org or fax it (855-420-7009). If you have questions, please call the chamber at 304-725-2055.

We look forward to hearing your suggestions on the award, and to seeing many of you at the chamber dinner. The evening includes an outstanding meal, and it’s always exciting to celebrate the good things happening in our business community.

New businesses and businesses that have expanded during the past year will be recognized during the evening. RAI Properties, the locally owned commercial construction and property management company that operates the Burr Plaza in Bardane, will be recognized as the chamber’s latest George E. Vickers Business Award winner.

West Virginia Secretary of State Natalie Tennant will be the keynote speaker this year. The night also will include the introduction of the chamber’s leaders, both for the current year and for 2014-2015.

The event begins with a social hour with cash bar at 5:30 p.m.; dinner is served at 6:30 p.m. Tickets cost $29 for chamber members or $34 for non-members. To get more information or to reserve a seat, call the chamber at 304-725-2055.

As always, please also let us know your thoughts on this edition. We value each of our readers and appreciate your feedback – good or bad. Thank you for letting us be part of your week.

– Christine Snyder

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>