Roy and Barbara Dodson named Jefferson’s ‘4-H Family of the Year’

[cleeng_content id=”348564058″ description=”Read it now!” price=”0.49″ t=”article”]

CHARLES TOWN – Leaders and members of Jefferson County’s 4-H program came out to Wright-Denny Intermediate School on Nov. 14 to recognize outstanding projects and service at the annual 4-H Achievement Night.

The most prestigious award of the night – the 4-H Family of the Year Award – went to Roy and Barbara Dodson and their family. Roy Dodson supports Shenandoah Shamrocks by ensuring the club and its members take part in important club activities and fundraisers and county and state level 4-H events.

Barbara Dodson serves as club leader of the Shenandoah Shamrocks but her unwavering commitment to 4-H is rooted in her childhood as she was a member of the Bullskin Happy Workers 4-H Club for eight years.

The Dodsons inspire members and their families to actively be involved with the “Step Up” Homeless Coalition in Charles Town. The club is a strong supporter of the Jefferson County Community Ministries and donates to the food pantry and clothing closet. Recently, the Shamrocks sponsored a fundraiser for Camp Frame in partnership with Domestic restaurant in Shepherdstown.

Their daughters Miranda and McKayla Dodson are long-time 4-H members who have served in a variety of club leadership positions and have displayed excellence in projects.

Miranda won the Grand Champion Market Steer award at the 2013 West Virginia State Fair and is a member of the Jefferson County Livestock Judging Team.

As Shenandoah Shamrocks president, McKayla has introduced social media to communicate the club’s activities and initiatives and has made changes in the monthly meeting agenda to make the meeting time more valuable and meaningful to club members.

Achievement Night began with pledges led by Alvin Hailer of the Shenandoah Mountaineers and Riley Shultz of the Yahoo Buckaroos. Both were first-year members last year, completing the “This is 4-H” project with a perfect score.

Emcees for the evening at Wright Denny Intermediate School were Aaron Anderson of Leetown Crossroads and Jheri Liskey of Teen Force and Saddle Club.

Members were recognized for project excellence with pins and volunteers were recognized for their service through the Club Helper award and years of service pins. More than 200 project pins were awarded to members and the number of years of service by volunteers added up to almost 600 years of service.

A number of other awards were also awarded to members and volunteers, including Brandi Shultz and Brian and Julie Everhart, Outstanding 4-H Alumni; Madison Adams and Keith Dailey, Young Leadership Development Award; William “Trip” Patterson III and Jackson Hepner, Citizenship Award; Sophie Lind and Daniel Hepner, Outstanding 4-H Members; Matthew Hott, Tony Del-Colle Memorial Award; Mikaela Grey and Brandon and Michael Chrisman, Dairy Project Excellence in honor of Pete Walker; and Outstanding Club Leader of the Year, Margaret Liskey.

The Friends of 4-H award were awarded to Home Depot of Ranson, Southern States of Ranson, Tractor Supply Company of Charles Town and Locke Wysong.

Loretta Shade heads the Achievement Night Committee, which includes Kathy Blue, Cathie Burke, Vicki Ott, Patt Welsh, Polly Wharton and Katie Yohn. Jefferson County CEOS Council and Farm Bureau provided refreshments, which were served by Clara Carroll, Pam Smith and Lisa Ring. Deana Thorsell took pictures.

– Compiled by Shay McNeil, WVU Extension

Service 4-H Agent


Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>