Rams’ Kline nabs defensive coordinator of year

SHEPHERDSTOWN – FootballScoop has selected Shepherd University defensive coordinator Josh Kline as the 2013 FootballScoop Division II Coordinator of the Year.

No defense in FBS, FCS or Division II had a better season than Shepherd University, as the Rams held opponents to a stunning 15 touchdowns in 12 games.

Josh Kline

Josh Kline

The Rams pitched three shutouts this season, and held half of their dozen foes to 10 points or less. Ten of their 12 opponents were held to 21 points or less. Overall, Shepherd ranked second in scoring defense at 13.4 points allowed per game.

Kline’s defense also ranked second in Division II in total defense, allowing a scant 244.8 yards per game. As a frame of reference, that number would have led FBS by nearly seven full yards per game.

The Rams were equally stingy against the rush and the pass. Opponents tried 305 rushes this season and gained only 580 yards, a ridiculous 1.9 yards per carry allowed, and scored only two touchdowns.

Kline’s defense ranked third in Division II in pass efficiency defense, limiting opponents to 229-of-453 passing (50.6 percent) for 2,358 yards (5.2 yards per attempt) with 13 touchdowns and 16 interceptions, good for a 96.68 pass efficiency rating.

“We’ve only had defensive coordinators since 1990, Jeff Casteel, Bob Haley and Josh Kline,” head coach Monte Cater said. “Our defense has been at its best in the last few years with Josh. He was a really hard worker during his playing days as an undersized defensive lineman, and he’s an equally hard worker as our defensive coordinator.”

Kline helped Shepherd post a perfect regular season and an 11-1 overall record, reaching the quarterfinals of the Division II playoffs. Individually, six Rams defenders were earned NCAA Division II All-Super Region One honors. – Staff Report





Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>