• FFA picks leaders: Washington High’s chapter of Future Farmers of America has elected officers for the 2013-14 school year. The new officer team includes Blayne Ott (president), Brittany Hite (sentinel), Tori Wolfe (secretary), Will Shultz (treasurer), Cary Gabbert (historian), Erica Heflin (reporter) and India Titus (vice president).
  • Reading goal reached: Students and staff members at Harpers Ferry Middle School have met their “West Virginia Reads 150” goal.
    The school this spring completed Part I of the statewide “West Virginia Reads 150” program, a reading challenge which celebrates West Virginia’s 150th birthday.
    Teams of up to 15 members each set a goal of reading 150 books by May 24. When the school’s 76 participants turned in their reading logs, they’d read a total of 1,360 books, which averages to 17.89 books each.
    To celebrate, the participants gathered in the school cafeteria May 30 for a pizza party. Part II will begin when students return to the classroom in August and conclude Dec. 31.
    Anyone can register for the program by visiting the West Virginia Library Commission at
  • Dean’s list: Seth Kijewski, a student studying at the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, has been named to the school’s dean’s list for the spring semester.
    Kijewski is a Harpers Ferry resident.
    Dean’s List students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester. Full-time students must have earned a minimum of 12 credit hours that term, while part-time students must have earned between 3 and 11 credit hours that term.
  • Inwood man honored: Shenandoah University has awarded one of its top honors, the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award, to Inwood resident Brad Snowden, the school’s senior advancement director.
    The private school in Winchester, Va., presented the award during the university’s May 11 commencement ceremony. Said Snowden: “I was overwhelmed, humbled and stunned that I would even be considered to be in the company of past winners.”
    Sullivan awards are given each year to one graduating woman and one graduating man, as well as one non-student selected from the faculty, staff or board of trustees. The awards are given to individuals of “noble character whose fine spiritual qualities are practically applied to daily living.”
    The award was established in 1925 by the New York Southern Society.
    Snowden practiced law for 17 years in Winchester and the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia before joining the university’s staff in 2002.
    He is involved in a number of civic and professional organizations including the Clarke County Rotary Club, Wayside Theatre Board of Directors, Tri-State Planned Giving Council, the Tri-State Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Conference Caucus of the Virginia Fundraising Institute, Musselman High School Soccer Booster Association and Musselman High Band Boosters Association.
    He is treasurer of Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church in Arden and volunteers with Immanuel’s Table, an interdenominational meals program for the homeless and disadvantaged in Martinsburg, as well as with Loaves & Fishes in Martinsburg and Congregational Community Action Project in Winchester.
  • Exchange student speech: Le “Enni” Huyen Thao Uyen, an international exchange student from Vietnam, spoke June 5 at a Community Educational Outreach Service luncheon at Paul’s at Oakland Church in Charles Town.
    Uyen is spending two years studying math at West Virginia University through a program sponsored by West Virginia CEOS. The 38th CEOS International Student, she plans to become a math teacher and then a lawyer.
    During the lundheon, she gave a brief overview of Vietnam’s history, symbols, commerce and language.
    For more on Jefferson CEOS, contact Sue Mercer, marketing and membership chairwoman 304-725-8067
  • State Math Field Day: A number of students from Jefferson County qualified for State Math Field Day, including fourth-graders Sara Menz (second place) and Nick Moore (second alternate); fifth-graders Matthew Spiker (second place) and Abby White (first alternate); seventh-graders Nicholas Chapman (first alternate); eighth-rader Avery Younis (second place); ninth-grader Evan Snyder (second place) and 10th graders through seniors Jim Park (second place), Timmy Scott (third place), Paul Sibrell (fourth place) and Arlo Parker (sixth place).
  • Share your news: Parents, students or school leaders can share news with the Spirit of Jefferson by sending details to Christine Miller Ford at Include a phone number or other contact information in case we need to know more.


Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>