Check Spirit site for Ranson election results

RANSON – The results of Tuesday’s city election will be posted on the Spirit of Jefferson website by this morning.

Voters were able to go to the polls through 7:30 Tuesday night, later than our newspaper’s print deadline.

None of the seats were contested. Mayor David Hamill was unopposed for another four-year term as mayor.

The slot on the ballot for City Recorder was blank. Town Recorder Tony Braithwaite resigned after moving from Ranson. After the election, the council members will determine how to fill that position.

Longtime Councilman Duke Pierson is unopposed and Mike Anderson, who sought to replace incumbent Debbie McClure after she announced she would not seek re-election, did not have an opponent.

Scott Coulter, Donnie Haines and David Cheshire also serve on Ranson Council.

The town of Bolivar also held its election Tuesday. Former Councilwomen Vicki Eckert and Donna Howe Callar seek to replace incumbent Councilman Edmund Stazyk.

The other six incumbents on the ballot are unopposed, including Mayor Robert J. Hardy, Recorder P. Jean Reed, and council members John Paul Heafer, Helen Dettmer, David Kardok and Paul Staubs.

Elected officials in Bolivar serve two-year terms.

In Harpers Ferry, there are no contested races in the June 11 election for mayor and the five council seats. Early voting in the Town Hall will be held daily from through June 8.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>