Wake up the echoes

WESTON — Qualifying 11 wrestlers for this week’s state tournament, Washington High repeated as the Class AAA, Region II champion on Saturday in Lewis County.

The Patriots had five weight-class champions in Ty Reynolds (106), Tyler Sigler (120), Jared Jones (138), Dylan Ceravalo (160), and R.J. Wilson (195) as they racked up 240.5 team points to outdistance Musselman (207.5 points).

Jefferson High was able to qualify seven wrestlers for the state meet to be held at the Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington beginning on Thursday and running through Saturday. The Cougars had one weight-class champion in 285-pound Lane Harder. Jefferson was fourth in the team standings with 140.5 points, falling just short of Buckhannon’s 144.5 points and third place.

Finishing fifth through ninth were Hedgesville, Lewis County, Martinsburg, Hampshire, and Elkins.

ashington successfully defended its Region II title from 2012.

Washington successfully defended its Region II title from 2012.

The Patriots were the 2012 team champions in Region II.

Reynolds swept through two matches at 106, winning both by pin fall. Sigler had three wins at 120, including a demonstrative 15-1 major decision victory over regular-season nemesis Bradley DeRito of Musselman in the finals. Reynolds improved his record to 32-4 after the Regional, and Sigler has a 33-6 record after winning the Regional.

Jones had three wins at 138. He pinned all three opponents, including a pin in five minutes over Levi Spickler (Jefferson) in the finals. He will take a 30-9 overall record to Huntington. Ceravalo won by pin in his first two matches at 160 and then registered a 13-1 major decision over Musselman’s Danny Arndt in the finals. Ceravalo has a 35-2 overall record

Wilson posted two wins by fall at 195 and then took a 6-3 decision win against Joey Fernandez (Martinsburg) in the finals. Wilson carries a 25-17 record to Huntington.

Jefferson’s Harder improved his overall record to 27-2 with three wins by pin fall at 285. Harder pinned Musselman’s Tyler Bucklew in 1:57 in the division finals.

Washington had four wrestlers finish second — Ashby Heath (225), Tyler Cross (132), Mark Becraft (145), and Zane Bradbury (170). All will be in Huntington. Other Patriots also qualifying for the state meet were Quinn Kackley and Steven Edwards.

Jefferson had Spickler finish second and also qualified Wyatt Phillip (113), John Bryant (145), Chris Yenchko (152), Shane Moore (160), and A.J. Pierson for the state meet.

The four Class AAA regions all qualify four wrestlers in each weight-class for the state meet. To win a weight-class title, each champion must win four matches in Huntington.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>