Pats best Applemen, 39-34, in season finale

CHARLES TOWN — Washington got five pins in its 39-34 dual wrestling match win over visiting Musselman, and none was more important than the one registered by P. J. Bowlin at 195 pounds.

Bowlin was able to pin Musselman’s Brady Estep in the second period of their match giving the Patriots a chance to move Tyler Sigler from his usual spot at 120 pounds to 126 pounds where he faced Todd Williams in the night’s final match.

With Musselman holding a 34-33 lead, Sigler rolled up a commanding double-figure lead before pinning Williams. The Sigler pin in the last match gave Washington six more points and overcame the Applemen lead that had come when they received six points with a forfeit win at 120.

The Bowlin and Sigler pins were helped by Ashby Heath’s pin of Derek Estep at 220, Jarod Jones’ win by pin fall in just 22 seconds at 138 and Mark Becraft’s win by pin fall in just 23 seconds at 145.

Those five pins were worth 30 of the 39 points the Patriots earned in winning.

The other two Washington wins came from Dylan Ceravalo’s (160 pounds) major decision and Zane Bradbury’s (170 pounds) technical fall.

Washington wrestled without Ty Reynolds, their standout performer at 106 pounds. Reynolds was sick and unavailable.

Musselman wins by pin came from Tyler Bucklew (285 pounds), Cody Spinks (152 pounds), and P. J. Dolan (113 pounds).

The other Applemen victories were by Ryan Kackley (106), Kody Kernan (132), Bradley DeRito (by forfeit at 120), and David Stas (182). Stas defeated R. J. Wilson, 4-1, in three overtimes.

Washington and Musselman will be at the Class AAA, Region II Meet to be held at Lewis County High on Saturday, Feb. 16. Also scheduled to be at the Regional to complete the nine-team field are Hedgesville, Jefferson, Martinsburg, Elkins, Buckhannon, Lewis County, and Hampshire.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>