Incumbents keep county offices

CHARLES TOWN – Jefferson County’s incumbent magistrates and assessor all retained their seats in Tuesday’s election.

[cleeng_content id="878864478" description="Read it now!" price="0.15" t="article"]Magistrates Gail Boober, Mary Paul Rissler and Bill Senseney, all Democrats, won new four-year terms.

Boober, the longest-serving of the three magistrates, was first elected in 1984 and has remained in office ever since. Rissler has served since 1994, and Senseney has served since 2000. On Tuesday, Boober received 23 percent of the total votes, with Rissler and Senseney each taking 22 percent.

Republican Bill Arnicar garnered 7,517 votes, 17 percent of the total. Peter Onoszko, also a Republican, took 7,478 for 16 percent of the total.

In the race for assessor, Democrat Angela Banks retained her seat, winning by an 11 percent margin over Republican Gary Dungan.

In other election news Tuesday:

  •  Mitt Romney took Jefferson County by a healthy 4 percent margin, winning over a narrow majority of county voters. Barak Obama took only 47 percent of the votes. Nearly 3 percent of voters opted for third party or write-in candidates, of which Libertarian candidate Gary Johnson took about half.
  •  There was near-parity in Republican and Democratic straight-ticket votes this year. This year there were only slightly more than 100 more Democratic than Republican straight-ticket ballots. In contrast, Democrats had a more than 1,300 straight-ticket vote advantage in the 2008 elections.
  •  Judge John Yoder was the overwhelming favorite among Jefferson County voters in the race for the Supreme Court of Appeals, winning almost twice as many votes as the next most popular candidate, incumbent Democrat Robin Jean Davis. Yoder took 41 percent, Davis 24 percent. Yoder, a Republican, didn’t fare as well statewide, finishing third behind Davis and Republican Allen Loughry.
  •  County voters narrowly rejected a constitutional amendment which would have removed the two-term limit for sheriffs throughout West Virginia.
  •  In other statewide contests, Democrat Glen Gainer won re-election over Larry V. Faircloth, of Martinsburg; Democrat John Perdue was re-elected treasurer; Secretary of State Natalie Tennant, a Democrat, won a second term; Democrat Walt Helmick was ahead in the race for the state’s new commissioner of agriculture.[/cleeng_content]

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>