Osbourn wins spot on school board; Kable re-elected

CHARLES TOWN – In Tuesday’s race for two seats on the non-partisan Jefferson County Board of Education, two men emerged winners from a field of six.

Mark Osbourn of Shepherdstown and Gary Kable finished first and second in the race, getting 3,006 votes and 2,312 votes respectively.
Osbourn, the recently retired principal of C.W. Shipley Elementary School, will become the newest member of the board while Kable won election to another four-year term on the five-member board. He has served on the school board since 2006.
Alan Sturm opted not to seek re-election.
Finishing behind Osbourn and Kable were parent and school volunteer Laurie Ogden, who came in third with 1,922 votes; former Jefferson County Board of Education President Lori Stilley with 1,234; veteran educator Jim Jenkins with 1,480; and former county schools service employee Tom DeLauney with 734.
In the race for three county magistrate seats, Tuesday’s primary election narrowed the field by one, moving to a field of just six.
Democratic candidate Wendy Torelli was eliminated from the running. She came in last in the four-person primary field, garnering only 1,136 votes.
All three winners from the Democratic pool of candidates are incumbents. Bill Senseney finished with 2,269 votes; Mary Paul Rissler with 2,024; and Gail Boober with 1,978 votes.
The three Republican candidates running in the primary – Ronald “Ronnie” Bell, Peter Onoszko and Bill Arnicar – will now face Senseney, Rissler and Boober in November.


Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>